Tadoku time!

久しぶりだな〜! It’s been a while since I’ve participated in Tadoku but it feels good to get back into reading Japanese 🙂 2014-08-19 06.46.16

If you’re not familiar with Tadoku, it’s a reading contest on Twitter where you aim to read as much in the language you’re learning as you can. Find out more here – if you’re learning a language, check it out! It’s fun and a great motivator.

I’ve finished my first weekend of Tadoku and am hanging in there (despite having a hard time finding the time to read… such is life!) Here are some methods I’m employing for this round, wanted to share!

  • Every morning I read *something* in Japanese. Usually just a few pages of manga but it doesn’t matter what – just read something! Helps set up the rest of the day for success.
  • Even when I’m not reading Japanese, I’m still trying to stay immersed whenever I can. A new method is: replacing English audiobooks, not just with Japanese audio books… but the audio from my favorite Japanese dramas. I think I’ll be exploring this tactic further in the future, I’m liking it so far!
  • So far I’ve mostly been reading manga but have also been reading subtitles for dramas/movies and have dabbled a little bit in computer games (now that I’ve found out how to change certain Steam games to Japanese!)

Here’s hoping I keep going strong! Good luck to anyone participating, and if you’re not, I hope you look into it 🙂 Happy learning~

Leave a comment